Leader Decision In Year Appointment to ESPO

Portfolio Holder	Leader of the Council
Date of decision	8 September 2023
	Signed

1. Decision taken

1.1 That the Leader appoints Councillor Richard Baxter-Payne to the Eastern Shires Purchasing Organisation (ESPO) Management Committee in place of Councillor Martin Watson.

2. Reasons for decisions

2.1 At the Leader Decision Making meeting on 16 May 2023, Councillor Peter Butlin and Councillor Martin Watson were appointed to the ESPO Management Committee. Since that meeting, there have been further discussions on the membership of the ESPO Management Committee and Councillor Watson has proposed that he steps down from this role and is replaced by Councillor Richard Baxter-Payne.

3. Background information

- 3.1 ESPO is a joint committee between consortium authorities whose purpose is to improve and maintain effective and efficient and economical arrangements for the supply of goods and services to its constituent authorities.
- 3.2 Each member authority has 2 places on the Management Committee (one to be a Cabinet member).
- 3.3 On 16 May 2023, the Leader confirmed the two appointments to the ESPO Management Committee as Councillor Peter Butlin (Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Finance and Property) and Councillor Martin Watson (Portfolio Holder for Economy).
- 3.4 Subsequent to further discussions on the membership of the ESPO Management Committee, it is proposed that Councillor Richard Baxter-Payne replaces Councillor Martin Watson on the ESPO Management Committee. No change is

proposed to the appointment of Councillor Peter Butlin, which ensures that the requirement for one of the Council's appointments to be a Cabinet Member continues to be met.

The Leader is invited to confirm the appointment of Councillor Peter Butlin and Councillor Richard Baxter-Payne to the ESPO Management Committee.

4. Financial implications

4.1 The proposal set out in the report can be accommodated within the 2023/24 approved budget.

5. Environmental implications

5.1 None

Report Author	Deborah Moseley
	Democratic Services Team Leader
	deborahmoseley@warwickshire.gov.uk
	Tel: 01926 418136
Director	Sarah Duxbury
	Director – Governance and Policy
	sarahduxbury@warwickshire.gov.uk Tel 01926
	412090
Executive Director	Rob Powell
	Executive Director for Resources
	robpowell@warwickshire.gov.uk
	Tel 01926 412564
Portfolio Holder	Councillor Izzi Seccombe
	Leader of the Council
	cllrseccombe@warwickshire.gov.uk

Urgent matter?	No
Confidential or exempt?	No
Is the decision contrary to the	No
budget and policy	
framework?	

List of background papers

None

Members and officers consulted and informed

Portfolio Holder - Councillor Izzi Seccombe, Leader

Corporate Board – Rob Powell

Legal – Jan Cumming

Finance – Virginia Rennie

Equality – Delroy Madden

Democratic Services – Deb Moseley

Councillors – Warwick, Birdi, Boad, Philips and W. Roberts

Local Member(s): N/A – This is a countywide matter.